To Save the World or just the Soufflé?

To continue with my posting of projects I forgot to post about, meet the chef for the Coon Capers crew!

I had a suspicion when I made the vampire raccoon that pre-felt was going to be my new best friend.

I was right.

Pre-felt is amazing.

My original idea for this project was more along the lines of a little kid (raccoon) pretending to be a superhero with a tablecloth tied around his shoulders.  But, as tends to happen with wool, it has a mind of its own and doesn’t always want to do what I tell it to.

I started out making a checkered tablecloth.  When I made a tablecloth previously for the Picnic Thief, it involved way too much time weaving (and re-weaving) squirrely wool roving.

This time, I had pre-felt!  It came out exactly like I wanted in a fraction of the time.

IMG_3880

The problem was that I also wanted to use the fun chef’s hat that I made… and it didn’t really look that great with the idea of a tablecloth cape.

IMG_3888

So, just like the hat I told you about yesterday, the tablecloth got a haircut.

IMG_3916

Much stabbing later, the fuzzy little raccoon had his checkered apron and arms to use the mixing bowl and wooden spoon with.  Now he can cook yummy things for the rest of the raccoons (but I bet when he sleeps at night, he dreams about saving more than souffles in the superhero cape that he almost had).

For more about the chef raccoon and his other mischievous raccoon friends, check out the pictures and descriptions in Coon Capers (or the Coon Capers section of my shop).  

 

This entry was posted in Needle Felting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment