Flipflops Over Presents

Earlier this week, I made a little party hat with a matching present.  It was supposed to be for the next installment of Coon Capers.   So, yesterday afternoon I started watching (for the millionth time) Hunt for Red October and began to make the birthday raccoon.

And then, the problems started.

First, I started to put his fur on before I attached the ears.  The ears need to go on first, so that they are covered correctly.  This meant I had to pull the fur off of half his face (he didn’t cry too much).  Then, I wasn’t paying attention and attached the ear perpendicular to where it was supposed to be.  It looked like a mini-mohawk for the raccoon.  After pulling his ear off (and it was a very nice ear), I started over.  This time the ears came out just right.  That’s when the third problem occurred to me.

He had ears.

He wasn’t supposed to have ears.

He was supposed to have one ear and a party hat where the other ear generally goes.

Oops.

I couldn’t bring myself to de-ear the poor creature yet again, so I had to come up with something else to make the raccoon into.

Apparently this raccoon wanted to go hang out at the swimming pool and enjoy his summer instead of going to a birthday party.  He prefers flip-flops and inner tubes to pointy party hats and presents.

Some other time, I should tell you about the raccoon that decided he’d rather be a cat.   That was fun.

IMG_0589

This entry was posted in Needle Felting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flipflops Over Presents

  1. Pingback: The Sad Party Hat | Treble Lizard Designs

  2. Pingback: To Save the World or just the Soufflé? | Treble Lizard Designs

Leave a comment